Now What Florida?

Sign: NO Swimming!

White people: I’m gona show them that I can swim.

image

Sign: NO Swimming!

White people: Oh, it’s okay honey. We’re just standing!

image

As you can probably tell by now, this post will be about what is known as the Disney Gator Attack. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, check out this article. I saw this the other night, but I didn’t pay it ANY attention, because I thought it was one of those fake tabloid stories. “This is TOO farfetched to be true!” I woke up the next morning and it was the number one trending topic on Twitter. There’s absolutely POSITIVELY no way this should’ve happened. Excuse me, but I feel like giving you all a piece of my mind (free of charge of course).

Sign: NO Swimming!

White people: Well, it doesn’t discourage standing. Therefore, I will stand.

Sign: NO Swimming!

White people: It’s probably okay for us.

image

Are you all beginning to notice a trend here? Do you see where I’m going? If not, things will start to clear up very soon.

The sign said “No Swimming”. It didn’t say “No Swimming After 9 P.M.” That means you can’t be in that water at any point. So WHY were they in the water? Certainly, I’m not the only one that can see a problem with that! Or maybe…I am? All morning on Twitter, people have been in my mentions saying things like “They were STANDING in the water!” Pardon me, but is that not childish thinking? “FINE! I will not swim. I shall stand.” That’s like a 5 year old trying to see how close they can get to doing something before their parents saying anything. Essentially, that’s the equivalent of “I’m not touching you!” Allow me to further interject.

Once, I got in trouble and my mom told me I couldn’t watch tv. What did I do? I listened to it. I shut my eyes and listened to it. My mom came in like “I thought I told you….” and I told her with a straight face that I wasn’t watching; I was listening. She couldn’t get mad, because I was taught to think my way thru things. Plus, I was like eight. The thing is…I was eight. And in that moment that was childish thinking. Though it may have technically been an accurate statement, what I was doing defeated the purpose of the punishment. These were 2 grown folks yal and much like me, they essentially defeated the purpose of posting the sign. You know, maybe Donald Trump’s ideas are not so farfetched. Would this have happened if the lagoon had a wall around it? Without a wall, you aren’t really enforcing and therefore, are merely suggesting?

I can already see the prosecution against the Disney brand saying something to that effect. I could also see them claiming that it wouldn’t have hurt if the sign said “No Standing” in the water as well. Some people have even went as far as to say “Well, if the sign had said ‘Alligators Present’ it would’ve been more clear.” However, I say that wouldn’t have mattered. If the sign said “No Standing” people would try to float, hover, or levitate over the water. At that point, you might as well put in parentheses “No Walking On Water“. If the sign would’ve said, “Gators Present” I’m thoroughly convinced that these people would’ve went to the gift shop and bought something for the alligators. CLEARLY they were not aware enough to know that they were encouraged to stay out of the water. They weren’t wanted in the water! Well…I’m sure there are some alligators that might disagree with that statement, but that’s neither here nor there. One thing that I will say about this Disney luxury resort is whose bright idea was it to put a lagoon IN FLORIDA right next to a tourist attraction. Really? An alligator nest right next to a children’s park and hotel? FYI, the lagoon was man-made.

Is it wrong to feel bad for the child, but not the parents? As for much of my opinions, I took a lot of flack on Twitter for that statement. One person tweeted “Only if you’ve never made a mistake as a parent.” To that I responded “Well then seeing that I don’t have a child, I say that shoe fits me pretty well. I have never made a mistake as a parent.” Yes, I may be biased as a sower without a seed, but I KNOW that all of this was EASILY avoidable by doing what parents tell their children to do; follow directions.

I teach kids, I work with kids, and kids like me. I KNOW that they (at times…many times) can be difficult, frustrating, ANNOYING, talkative, this, that, AND the other. But in this case, the child couldn’t read or was JUST LEARNING how to read. In those stages, it is remarkably unreasonable to expect a child to decipher right from wrong and that is exactly why I feel empathy for the child and not the parents. Yes, we all make mistakes, but they deliberately put their child’s life in danger and…for what purpose?

For all intensive purposes, just know that I’m wrapping this up (for now). I cannot go on without saying one of the most…interesting thoughts around the message on the signage. I saw a tweet that said “No swimming just means no lifeguard on duty.” I couldn’t believe what my eyes had seen. But you know what? Maybe (just maybe) it does mean something else. I am a Texas native and here in Texas, no swimming means no swimming. It also implies no standing, no dipping your toes in the water, and even if you get to close that just might be considered trespassing. Why is that last part important? In Texas, you have the right to defend your property essentially in any manner you see fit (hint hint even unto death of the trespasser). There’s CLEARLY something in the water (both literally and figuratively). People just don’t have common sense anymore! I’m fact, according to the latest economic polls, common sense is down 2.3% from the month of May. Would it have helped if they added “that means YOU” in parentheses on the signage??? I don’t know. I’m at a loss.

What do you all think about the story? What do you think about this body of writing here. Comment and let me know. I like to think of this as a free space.

I take absolutely POSTIVELY no credit for any of the images, links, or originally expressed ideas within those links (unless otherwise stated).

Leave a Reply

