Drifting

I didn’t go to my home congregation this morning. Nope. The Lord guided me to Beckley Heights Church of Christ. He guided me there to hear a sermon tailored just for me. This morning, the sermon was about drifting. Drifting is struggle soup to the struggling Christian’s soul. The primary text was Hebrews 2:1. The thing about drifting is that when you drift, it’s not done overnight; it’s done in a slow and unforced manner. And drifting starts when you grow complacent. You see, you THINK that everything is good and you’re in the same place, but after awhile you start to notice that you are so far from where you once were.

I’ve been drifting for a good minute now and I need to change my course. Complacency will overcome the redeemed. God never grows complacent. He didn’t stop on that 7th day and say “Ok, I’m finished.” No. God stays active, so that things will stay in order.

The Word of the afternoon ladies and gentlemen.

One thought on “Drifting”

  1. Hello there! This article could not be written much better!
    Looking through this post reminds me of my previous
    roommate! He continually kept talking about this. I will send this article
    to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a very good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

